The Marklund Board of Directors is made up of a group of volunteers from the suburbs and Chicago area who are committed to advancing the mission and vision of Marklund. Having diverse backgrounds, the Board members bring to the table experience from various business sectors, service organizations and personal connections to the developmental disabilities arena.

2023 Board of Directors

Mike Herlihy, Chair
Carol Donahue, Vice Chair
Jerry Finis, Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair
Jim Armbruster, Secretary,
Laura Karlins, Development Committee Chair
Tim Adkins
Dr. Maleeha Basha
Howard Brandeisky
Carie Carney
Gerry Estes
Karyn Fitch
Dan Foley
Yaneth Medina
Frank Murnane Jr.
Ari Smith
Dan Whiston

Remaining meeting dates for 2024:  June 20, August 8 (Board Retreat), and October 30.

Meeting dates for 2025: January 23, April 3, May 22 (Finance only), June 19, August 7 (Board Retreat), October 30


Parents and guardians of Marklund residents/community clients/students are welcome to meet with the board but must make their request at least three weeks in advance of a meeting to allow for sufficient time. Requests must be made through Mary Kobbeman, Executive Assistant, at 630-593-5472.

The Board holds four scheduled meetings per year, plus an all-day retreat.
Board meetings begin at 7 p.m.