Thank you to those who attended Marklund’s #27DiscoBall!

Save the date for our 2024 Top Hat Ball — 2.10.24

It was a night to remember! See below for links to photos and video for our epic Disco Ball, #27TopHat!

View this year’s Top Hat Ball video below!

Click here to pay for winning auction packages.

Thank you to our Top Hat Ball sponsors!

Top Hat Ball Leadership

Event Vice Chairs

Sandy and Mike Herlihy


Event Committee

Abbie Armbruster

Ana Armbruster

Jim Armbruster

Lindsey Burnette

Will Dale*

Kim Delort

Carol Donahue

Holly Francis*

Karen Golden

Erika Haneberg*

Jackie Janega*

Laura Karlins*

Tim Kueker

Natalie Miller

Kate Moore*

Lisa Morema*

Melissa Nilles*

Binna Porter

Bud Porter

Janine Porter*

Stacey Prentis

Zach Prentis

Marge Santo*

Catie Schmidt

Max Schmidt

Cheryl Simoncelli

Katie Wojciechowski*

Jeannine Zupo- Director of Signature Events

Tiffany Zurek*


Auction Committee

Nicole Catizone*

Michelle Mattia*

Peggy Szarzynski

Sue Wick


Marklund Ambassador

Heather D of Marklund Tommy Home

*New Member

Please contact Jeannine Zupo at 630.624.9874 for more information!

Friends of the Year

2023 — Catie and Max Schmidt
2022 — Sandy and Mike Herlihy
2021 — Peg and John Haskins
2020 — Becky and John Duffey
2019 — David Pierro
2018 — Jeanne and George Webster
2017 — Aon
2016 — Karen J. Golden
2015 — The Foglia Family Foundation
2014 — Bud and Jim Porter
2013 — Carol and Mike Donahue
2012 — Andrea Billhardt
2011 — Gary, Jean & Beth Lederer
2010 — George and Pam Rion
2009 — Greg Osko

2008 — Jim and Lynn Armbruster
2007 — Joel Thompson
2006 — Robert Paddock/Paddock Publications
2005 — Bruce Jensen and Gail Ludewig/Total Works
2004 — Kevin Acker/West Suburban Bank
2003 — Senator James “Pate” Philip
2002 — Everett Van Der Molen
2001 — Congressman Henry Hyde
2000 — Robert Bernard
1999 — Dennis Langley and Peter Cyrus
1999 — Senator Steven J. Rauschenberger
1998 — Robert Smetana
1998 — Gwendolyn S. Henry

1997 — Father John Guiney
1996 — James D. Anderson
1995 — Jean Jordan
1994 — Jim Ford
1993 — Dennis Zimmerman
1992 — Michael Brenan
1991 — Richard Theriault
1990 — Gale Sayers
1989 — John P. Frazee
1988 — Birger Nyborg
1987 — Paul Greening
1986 — Thomas O. Myers, Jr.
1985 — Doris Whitney
1984 — Erhardt Weidmann
1983 — Richard Rathman
1982 — Edwin Deicke
1981 — Hiriam Sibley


The ball was established in 1997 when donors Jim Ford and Len Patyka chaired Marklund’s first-ever black tie gala. The event was held at the Shedd Aquarium and net $50,000, a great accomplishment for a first-year event! The ball immediately outgrew the Shedd space the following year and has moved to many venues since then, including the Field Museum, Union Station, Navy Pier, and Marriott hotels.

Since its inception, the ball has raised more than $8,528,073 in net proceeds, which has supported Marklund’s general operating and endowment funds.

Looking back at Top Hat Ball

Top Hat Ball 2017
Top Hat Ball 2018
Top Hat Ball 2019
Top Hat Ball 2020