41 years and going strong on the links,

we had a record number in attendance!

With support from 240 golfers, 66 sponsors, 40 volunteers and many generous donors at home, we raised $247,000 in net proceeds to help make everyday life possible for individuals with profound disabilities and special healthcare needs. Thank you!

Click this button to see highlights from the Marklund Golf Classic.

Your support makes the Marklund mission and vision possible!

See you next year at Cog Hill. Save-the-Date for June 6, 2024!

Thank you to all of our sponsors for the 2023 Marklund Golf Classic

Please pay any outstanding pledges here.


In 1983, Paul Greening, local community member, chaired the “First Annual Marklund Home Invitational Golf Tournament” held at Itasca County Club.  There were 42 golfers and the event broke even.  In 1984, the event was co-sponsored by the Addison Kiwanis Club, and was officially renamed the “Stan Haverkampf Memorial Golf Outing,” named after our co-founder who passed away in 1977.  NFL Hall-of-Famer Gale Sayers began hosting the golf outing in 1988, and in 1990 Marklund founder Claire Haverkampf agreed to rename the event “The Gale Sayers-Marklund Golf Tournament.”  White Sox legend Minnie Minoso was in attendance.  Since then, many former professional athletes have supported the Marklund golf outing including Bob Love of the Chicago Bulls, Dan Hampton, Emery Moorehead and Bob Avellini of the Chicago Bears, Billy Williams, Randy Hundley and Rich Nye of the Chicago Cubs, Stan Mikita of the Chicago Blackhawks, and Jack Perconte and Eric Soderholm of the Chicago White Sox, to name a few.
In 2017, the 35th Annual Golf Classic moved to a new venue, the renowned Cog Hill Golf Club in Lemont, IL, where golfers now have the opportunity to play on the championship Dubsdread Course for the Porter Cup trophy and title. Over 200 golfers play during the event in support of Marklund’s mission.