Established in 2003, the Hero Award is given annually to individuals or groups who are recognized for their courageous action and special achievements in furthering the Marklund mission. Hero Award winners have gone beyond the status quo to improve the lives of the infants, children and adults Marklund serves.  

Additionally, Hero Award winners may be very involved in Marklund,  attending special events throughout the year and supporting the ones they are unable to attend. They provide positive feedback and encouragement and will always lend a helping hand.

In addition to giving time and talent, award recipients are fiscally generous and supportive either with financial contributions or in-kind donations, for which Marklund is extremely grateful.

Marklund’s development team nominates candidates, and the final decision rests with a special committee. Each year, the winner is announced at the annual Marklund Golf Classic event held in May.



2015 – Baird & Warner of Fox Valley (pictured at right)Baird-Warner-web

2014 – The Ann Haskins Foundation

2013 – George and Arlana Fako

2012 – John Brust

2011 – Carrie Alani and Rob Lang

2010 – Larry and Renie Norkiewicz and Kate Harris

2009 – Liliana Olalde and Ed Izzi

2008 – Chris Guillen and George Webster

2007 – David Pierro and David Cosby

2005 – Bob and Kathy Korvas

2004 – Pastor Don Kretzschmar

2003 – Alice Horstman and John Sheaffer